11-26-2017 The Four Marks of the Church

Our Lady of the Holy Rosary-St. Richard Catholic Church
Journey of Faith
November 26, 2017—The Solemnity of Our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe
Opening Prayer
Scripture Readings
Ez 34:11-12, 15-17; Ps 23:1-6; 1 Cor 15:20-26, 28; Mt 25:31-46

“Whatever you did for one of these least brothers [or sisters] of mine,  you did for me” (Mt 25:40)
The Four Marks of the Church*
What four traits or characteristics most identify you?

Each Sunday we profess at Mass: “I believe in one, holy, catholic, and apostolic church.” These are generally referred to as the “Four Marks of the Church,” qualities that Christ calls us as Church to manifest to the world. What do these qualities mean?

The Church professes one Lord, one faith, one Baptism, and forms one body under the leadership of the Pope in communion with the Bishops. Although the Church is made up of a diversity of cultures, languages, nations, races, and traditions, it is held together in one communion through the gift of love of the Holy Spirit. Despite the divisions that have developed in the Church at various times, the Church has always been committed to the restoration of this unity among all People of God.

The Holy Spirit works within the Church to keep her faithful to the Gospel. Through the power of the Holy Spirit, the People of God can grow in holiness by allowing ourselves through God’s grace, to be freed from sin and to grow towards becoming conformed to the heart and mind of Jesus Christ, especially in the way he expresses his unconditional love for God and others.

The word  catholic means “universal.” The Church is catholic because of her universal expression and presence in local, “particular Churches” known as dioceses, (or eparchies in the Eastern Churches). These local communities and their bishops are linked together through their communion with the Church of Rome and her bishop, the Pope. The Church is catholic also because of her relationship to all people. Through evangelization, the Church seeks to engage in dialogue with all people who are not fully in communion with the Church, or who do not know Christ and his Gospel.

“Apostolic” is the final “mark” of the Church. The Church is built on the foundation of the Apostles, chosen by Christ to bear witness to his teaching, preaching, and life. Under the guidance of the Holy Spirit, the Church strives to remain faithful to the teaching of the Apostles, through their successors, the bishops, who act together as a body, with the Pope as their head, in their roles of leadership and teaching. As stated in our previous session, through our baptism, we are called to participate in Christ’s mission as a priestly and prophetic people, and as servant leaders.

*U.S. Catholic Catechism for Adults, Ch. 11.
Reflect on Your Experience
How do you personally experience the “four marks of the Church?”

How does the Church help you to grow in holiness?

    U.S. Catholic Catechism for Adults (USCCA)  Catecismo Catolica de los Estados Unidos para los Adultos


"The Four Marks of the Church" (EWTN)

"Pentecost" and the Four Marks of the Church (Bishop Robert Barron)

"The Church is Apostolic (Bishop Robert Barron)

"The Marks of the Church" (C4-Bishop Don Hying)

"One, Holy, Catholic, and Apostolic" (Dynamic Catholic)

"Marks of the Church" (Theology in 3 Minutes)

The Church is One, Holy- CCC 811-829 (Fr. Daniel Mahan)

The Church is Catholic - CCC 830-854 (Fr. Daniel Mahan)

The Church is Apostolic - CCC 857-870 (Fr. Daniel Mahan)


"God is Here"

"City of God"

"Come, Now is the Time to Worship"

"Gather the People"

Rites, Symbols, & Practices
"Biblical Texts Related to Catholic Liturgy" (Felix Just, S.J., Ph.D.)
If you have any questions or concerns, please email us at: aff@hrsrcs.org
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.